A friend of mine, who is about ten years my senior (yes, this is possible), was commenting on how fast time goes when you’re older. Look, the day’s almost over, she said.

Her twenty-something-year-old niece said: It’s only two o’clock.

I know. The day’s almost over.

No it isn’t. We have the whole rest of the afternoon, the evening, and the night. This is the exact reason you think time’s going faster. It’s because you never see all the time you have.

I had never thought of that. I said that I always thought the reason was that we experienced the length of time as a fraction of our whole life, so a day when you’re seven is much longer than when you’re 57, because of the vast difference in the size of the fraction of one day over the amount of total days lived. But I started to consider what my friend’s niece was saying, and told her that I think she’s right. When we dismiss time away, we don’t have it. Getting through a tough day or lamenting that a fun day is not at its beginning is handing hours over to The Great Cosmic Time Clock. It’s almost as if thinking about time takes away from the attention of what you’re doing during this man-made tick-tocking. And conversely, we all know that we don’t really experience time when we’re fascinated with anything.

Other than dealing with the everyday required attention to time, I don’t know if it’s better to think you have loads of time or to not think about its movement at all. I guess it’s the same either way.

Just do stuff and pay attention while you’re doing it.

Then eventually die. Until that happens, you’ll have enough time.

