Just because some people, myself included, are turned off by the literal, negative aspects of organized religion, there’s no reason we have to reject any of the great concepts.

Take The Lord works in mysterious ways, for example.

At face value, it could be taken as a free pass for the dude to do some pretty shitty things. I worked with a guy who had a point when he said, “What if I decided to work in mysterious ways?” The whole place did eventually shut down in some mysterious way, but that’s another story.

But let’s look at this another way. I ask you this because I’m really having insecurities about my parenting right now. When I gently push: no results. When I wait for motivation: the same result of no results.

So I’m just supporting and giving her tools to be motivated and making decisions case- by-case. I like to bake because I can be pretty sure that the 2 cups flour, 1 cup sugar, 1 teaspoon baking powder, etc., etc. at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes will yield the expected result. Parenting? A little different.

God to me is a spiritual force in the Universe. How do I know how my daughter will be in 10, 20, or whatever amount of years? If I’m supportive and loving while trusting myself and  the Universe, isn’t that having faith that things are working in a mysterious way?

“Mysterious” is the operating word here, because from my vantage point, things don’t seem to be working at all.

