I’m really scared about the upcoming mediation. I have no idea where I’ll stand financially when it’s over. I will be making decisions that will impact my daughter’s and my security in one tense day. What if I make a bad decision too quickly?

I think the only way to approach the next few months is to picture myself walking into an audition room. Try-outs for my new life. Dance to the music. Some coaches sitting in fold-out chairs on the sidelines.

The only problem is that I don’t know what the music is going to be. Will it be Run This Town? Stars and Stripes Forever? Feelings?

I don’t know what my ex will be asking for until the day of the mediation. I don’t know how the sale of this house will go down. I don’t know what rental homes will be available at the exact time we need to get out of here. I don’t know how long I’ll last in my unstable work environment. I don’t know shit.

All I know is that I’m flexible enough to dance to the Jay-Z Sousa Morris Albert mash-up.

