“How do you know about Leonard Cohen?” asked the former-a-little-too-young-to-be-a-hippie to her Doo-wop-loving ex on his last day here.

“I get a channel you guys don’t get called Palladia and I saw him on there and liked him so I bought a CD and DVD of a concert he did at a festival in England when he was young. Do you want me to bring it when I get back from feeding the cat?”

“Shit yeah!”

So early in the afternoon, after the big soccer game and before the Super Bowl, we watched the DVD. It was 1970 at 4 am for Leonard. Although my 17-year-old self was mouthing the words, I now had the experience required, so it was like a sleepless night in 2012 for me. Leonard was throwing out the 4-in-the-morning images and then some.

But now it’s come to distances…

Walk me to the corner; our steps will always rhyme.

You know my love goes with you as your love stays with me. It’s just the way it changes like the shoreline and the sea…Hey, that’s no way to say goodbye.

Words for all of us broken people. My ex sniffled. I rocked back and forth.

Truth. Truth. Truth.

But no way to fix it.

