Like financial experts, I know very little about predicting anything economic. But I was always amazed when banking representatives would use stock trends over the last 100 years as proof that long-term investing is prudent. The graphs would look honest because they would drop in 1929, but it all worked out in the end, we are told. What does that have to do with now? To my way of thinking, a global economy puts all that history in the bin with the 8-tracks.

Life planning seems to be in the same category. Society is changing exponentially, and any formulas for living are archaic. For me, lately, it’s all about adapting. Fast. Every day since the breakup of my marriage, I find myself in novelty. Does the past offer much in the way of guidelines? Picturing a woman my age watching Milton Berle with her husband on the black and white 5” because it’s Tuesday night won’t help me remember to DVR something in case my enthusiasm while writing a blog post about my divorce makes me lose track of time. She probably pondered what some butter-churning farm woman from the previous century would think of her sitting in front of a box that makes people she never met come into her living room.

But if a woman is working to make something her family will enjoy, another is relishing a shared experience with someone she loves, and I’m doing the best I can expressing my thoughts and feelings, aren’t we all tapping into the same positive energy to celebrate where we find ourselves on the timeline?

The values remain consistent when the guidelines become irrelevant. Arbitrary rules don’t help with the new stuff. They wouldn’t know where to put a modern, highly functioning, well-adapted utensil that fits your lifestyle.

Answer:  Either side of your mouth.

