This is where I screwed up.

I always felt (and still do) that family was the most important thing. I was the parent who worked outside the home, but making the home was my real job. I enjoyed working for the most part, but never developed a career. We were comfortable enough with my husband’s disability benefits and my hourly jobs. If I got laid off, it wasn’t the end of the world until I got another job. Meanwhile, I identified with “Wife” and “Mom”.

I wasn’t the type to get divorced, and I thought my husband was my soulmate.

You always hear about the idea that nobody ever wishes they spent more time at the office when they’re on their deathbed.

But we also need to hear about the idea that nobody ever wishes they put all their energy into the home and neglected making sure they are able to support themselves when they’re at a table with an ex and two lawyers.

